Monday’s Masterpiece – it’s all in the details

I realised recently that my Monday’s Masterpieces have fallen by the wayside lately, and that is simply not cricket if you ask me.  Let’s get the ball rolling for 2014!

I was bowled over the other day by this bonkers-good office/living space designed by Steven Gambrel that’s been doing the rounds on t’interwebs:

Chicago Residence designed by Steven Gambrel.

Loooove the bold use of colour and that artwork is incredible.

I thought I’d take a little peek at the rest of his portfolio this morning.  Equally at home with vibrant colour – every shade of the rainbow in fact – and monochrome neutrals, these spaces are richly layered and full of exquisite details.  I’ve kinda favoured the more neutral puppies, so if you’re more colour-inclined then make sure you stop by his portfolio and have a look for yourself.

Think I’ll let the images speak for themselves today… do leave me a comment and let me know what you think!

steven gambrel1 steven gambrel2 steven gambrel3 steven gambrel4 steven gambrel5 steven gambrel6 steven gambrel7 steven gambrel8 steven gambrel9 steven gambrel10 steven gambrel11 steven gambrel12 steven gambrel13 steven gambrel14

{credits}
This entry was posted in Monday's Masterpiece and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monday’s Masterpiece – it’s all in the details

  1. Alistair says:

    I think you need more colour in your life! I like the slightly crazier ones.

  2. Beautiful rooms, though I had this desire to let more light in… 🙂
    x

    http://fashionedbylove.blogspot.com

  3. Lilli says:

    Hi Elly! You are right, he is amazing! His work is truly a masterpiece and Im just really stunned by each design. The kitchens looks so cosy and warm!:) Wonderful decor indeed! Have a great week ahead dear, baci! xo

  4. blackc96 says:

    Good stuff! He’s got a great sense of style. Makes me also realize that I need to get better “After” photos :-).

  5. Sam says:

    So happy to see you blogging this series again Elly! The blue toned room is really bold and immediately commands attention, I like that rustic wooden kitchen as well, reminds me of the country. And that bathroom, wow, just stunning!! I am always grateful for your kind comments…Have a great week ahead!

  6. The first room somewhat resembles one from and old, but classy English house. The contrasting colours reminded me of the Caribbean, indeed. Also, I agree with Alistair!

  7. Definitely my kind of Blue Monday/first picture. You know it’s funny because there is this story about the most depressive day of the year called Blue Monday, a whole nonsense concept (with a calculation formula!!!) in which some people believe. And yesterday was Blue Monday, dear Elly, best choice of colors here. Both kitchen are gorgeous and those stair gave me almost a hypnosis feeling, almost like the Dutch stairs that are so narrow and abrupt that you ask yourself if you will survive one more morning! And imagine the kitchen is downstairs, so without any coffee in my blood, every morning, I have to go through the Dutch stairs trap. Have a lovely day!

  8. Bo says:

    i like the light toned room, the last picture look perfect! x

Whatcha thinking?