Project 6.3 and a few New Year res-oes

It’s DONE loves, DONE!  I can’t quite believe it.  I’ve been working towards this moment for a long time and now that it’s done and dusted (as well as my final residential project), to be honest I feel a smidgey overwhelmed.  [Cue soppy bit] My husband and my family and my best friends have been so supportive and wonderful and generally the bee’s knees, and I am very very veeeery grateful.  It’s been a lot of work but I’ve loved every moment of it.

I had a long break in the middle of the course (like err two years long), when I was doing a bunch of other things for the future biz: designing and planning our wedding, moving continents once and countries twice, and working on my first client in Honkers, among others.  But now that it’s done I am literally chomping at the bit to start working again.  There’s the small matter of waiting for my final grade (eeks) and professional qualification to come through, and then applying for permission to work in this ‘ere fine country, but I have a ton to keep me busy in the meantime.

Anyhoo so here it is, my final piece of coursework.  I got great grades for my last project so have set massively overly high expectations for myself for this one, but we shall see…  It’s the front of house scheme for a central riverside hotel in London – a mix of old and new, a traditional old-school English study vibe paired with the vibrancy of my incredible ‘home’ city.

So first up is the last concept board I ever have to do – these things are like torture for my brain (buggerama, didn’t spot that folded corner):

Elly MacDonald Design - project 6.3 1

The samplies – I went slightly overboard with the tufted velvet upholstery (delish!) and check out all that yummy brass and leather:

Elly MacDonald Design - project 6.3 2 Elly MacDonald Design - project 6.3 3

The rendered technicals:

Elly MacDonald Design - project 6.3 4

Including a pair of perspective drawings that for once I am not 100% ashamed of…only 30% ha:

Elly MacDonald Design - project 6.3 5

And lastly the plain technicals and one blooming enormous lighting plan:

Elly MacDonald Design - project 6.3 6

{credits: Elly MacDonald Design}

Donezo!  I also submitted three massive notebooks thingies but they’re kinda boring, no pretty pics for the blog.

And as for the new year resoes, well I’m a little late but I think they still need to be done. I only kept one out of three last year but what’s a new year without a little self-loathing and disappointment…?

1. Elly MacDonald Design

new year resolutions1_edited-1

{credit}

Setting up the biz, and becoming established in SG is clearly the priority – I am very very excited about spreading some ikat, ethnic goodies and colour around this little country.  It’s going to be a lot of work, especially to begin with, but I can’t wait to create something for myself again.

2. Bloggy blog

new year resolutions2_edited-1

{credit}

All of the opportunities I’ve had to date have come about through this little corner of the internet, and I’m very grateful for all it’s given me.  Thank you for joining and supporting me in this slightly crazy venture of mine.  But I’ve been letting le blog slide lately, with other higher priorities, and it’s not really cutting the mustard these days.

What would you lovelies like to see more of?  Less of?

3. Explore our new country

new year resolutions3_edited-1

{credit}

We’re totally in love with this country.  Seriously.  People always bang on about how boring and sterile Singapore is, just full of shopping malls and clean chewing gum-free streets, but there is so so much more to the place than that.  If you walk in one direction from our house you get into a really Chinese-y area with stinky dried foodstuffs like in HK, little shrines everywhere full of incense and offerings of pineapples and packets of biscuits, tanks full of frogs on the street outside restaurants waiting to be eaten, and a million weird karaoke bars with middle aged Chinese men crooning along to Celine Dion inside (amazing!).  And in the other direction it’s a very Malaysian and Indonesian area where all the women wear these beautiful colourful headscarves, the air is always full of the calls to prayer and you can get a killer rendang curry.  We just love it.

So we’ve been doing some exploring but there’s still a lot more to see oh yes there is.

4. Focus on positivity

new year resolution4_edited-1

{credit}

I’ve recently (and very unfairly) been put in a pretty nasty situation by somebody, and suddenly feel like I’m about 13 years old again.  Not going to discuss it here obvs as I am not 13 years old, but it’s reminded me how important it is to surround yourself with positive and nice people.  The world would be a much better place if everybody increased their kindness output a smidgeroo.

5. More stretching

new year resolutions5

{credit}

I’ve also been letting my yoga practice slide, spending too much time drawing friggin’ lighting plans and not enough time working out.  Also I ate too many pies over Christmas.   Literally ha, in fact all of the pies in London.  I won’t go on about it as it sounds like such a cliché I know (oh daaarling, you must try some vinyasa it’s simply faaabulous) but it mentally and physically resets me and I am a much much better person with regular yoga classes in my life.

Whew long post!  So there we have it, what say you…?  What are your resolutions for 2014?

This entry was posted in Ponderings, Study-schmudy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Project 6.3 and a few New Year res-oes

  1. L'Essenziale says:

    Elly your project looks totally amazing! You have done a great job – one of my NY resolutions is to finish at least 2 new projects this year. Wishing you good luck with all your endeavours!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations Elly! Good luck for 2014.xxx

  3. Alistair says:

    It’s a great achievement – congrats! A magnificent post!

    As for the New Year’s resolutions, they’re all quite laudable but you’ve forgotten the most essential one – do more tidying up!!

  4. Lilli says:

    Ciao Elly! Well done, I’m happy for you! A big congrats!!:) The project look amazing, Im really stunned by it, you have been great. I wish you a very happy new year, hope it will be fulfilling one in which you can realize all your resolutions. Kisses dear! xo

  5. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations, Elly , you seem to have been working so hard, & managing to have a social life as well, living life to the full.
    No New Year resolutions I’m afraid, just try & remain fit, healthy (pilatus for me) & enjoy life. Take care xxx

  6. Rachel says:

    Congrats again Elly, what a great achievement! You must be so relieved to have finally finished and can now get stuck into putting it all into practice once your business is set up.
    I’ll join you in resolutions 4 and 5, and come April I’ll be there with #3 too! That’s a fab set of plans for 2014 – here’s to an exciting year!xx

  7. suzzysmith says:

    Oh my Good GOD woman your work is truly amazing!! You should be so proud, and I can’t get over the quality of your drawings! Absolutely gobsmacked. You are a force to be beckoned with, I’d say. And a designer to watch in the future. I wouldn’t be surprised to see your name in lights soon!

    Your New Year resolutions sound awesome, I have to say one of my favourite ever countries I have visited was Singapore, so I’m incredibly jealous that you get to LIVE there! Like, full-time! Forever, should you wish! Bah. Envy. Can you please go to a food court and have a massive bowl of noodles for me?? Oh and go to Equinox and spin around inside the bar and have a few Margheritas for me? Those were the days…
    As for the happiness/stretching – preaching to the converted! Don’t know what I’d do without my positive affirmations and yoga, my planking is getting on OK too!
    I’d be interested to see your books that you did, I’ve not even begun to think about mine. Maybe I should…
    Well done! Time to celebrate!!!!! xxx

    • Elly says:

      Aah thank you Suzzy that’s so sweet of you. I’m so glad you loved Singapore too! Haha, yes that was in fact my dinner last night (the noodles, not the margaritas…). Hope the yoga and planking is going well! Ok I’ll see if I can upload some snaps of the notebooks, bear with m Oh yeh the History of Styles one is absolutely GIANT, I would really really recommend doing it in stages – I’m sort of a perfectionist so maybe took longer than I had to over it but I literally worked on it full-time for about 5 weeks. It’s a mo-fo. Interesting though!

      Thank again for the lovely comment, and god luck with the course!xx

      • suzzysmith says:

        Ooh I’m vay vay jealous- I couldn’t get enough of the noodles there! I have to say I loved the absurdity of it all- at night the McD workers would go outside and polish the sign before closing time! Mental..
        Sounds like I need to crack on then instead of enjoying my break inbetween the modules! Xxx

  8. janethails says:

    Hi Sweetie

    Loved today’s blog – it makes a very good CV!

    Mum xx

  9. Elly, that looks like a lot of work and I am so glad for you! So you did the course in London and could do it from Singapore?! Many, many new and fulfilling projects! And new yoga position to conquer:P, of course! 13 years old people heading to their 30s or 40s are everywhere, so keep calm and let them be, there is no change of rehab for them :D! I am also happy to be back even if with more news than fashion! Have a lovely day!
    PS: One of my colleagues from one of the Dutch courses I am following (yes, more, because it is not an easy language) said that the book of Khaled is more fiction than reality and those awful stories in the book are not at all true, but we all knew it’s a fiction book from the beginning, have to dig more next time on her resentment about this book. I love being surrounded by so many nationalities!

    • Elly says:

      Thanks for the lovely comment Florina! Yup it was an open learning project, so I could work from Cayman, Hong Kong and Singapore – it worked out really well actually. Interesting about the book, I did not know that! I can’t wait to hear more about your new life n Amsterdam, it’s all so exciting. Lots of piccies too please!! xx

  10. blackc96 says:

    Good stuff and great resolutions. Look forward to hearing more from Singapore.

  11. Sam says:

    Hi Elly, hope you had a wonderful start to the new year, I hope it brings you lots of luck, success and happiness. Congrats on completing the project!! Its amazing, loving the colours and textures. This is definitely 100% worthy. I know that you will achieve every one of these goals, your are already such a positive person, you can strike nr 4 off. I loved your description of Singapore, it sounds really interesting after reading that.

  12. Congratulations! You did such a fantastic, fantastic job!!! x

    http://fashionedbylove.blogspot.com

  13. Denise says:

    It’s all so nice! I am so sure you will have flying colours and will have loads of work to keep you busy, even busier than now! You are so talented, congratulations! I loved the pictures and the descriptions as well, of what you wanted to do with old school and contemporary vibe – this speaks so much to me! I must confess that my main flat (by now you know I am always on the road) is a mix of those two ideas (traditional mixed with modern) AND loads of Indian, oriental stuff. One of my brothers calls it “gypsy caravan” 🙂 Obviously I am thousands of miles away from your projects, I just threw things I liked there, I am not an interior designer!
    I guess I know what you mean by being put in a bad situation by someone nasty. It has happened to everybody at a certain point, I guess. With me it was through “my best friend” some years ago, just a sad and false person, but I never forgot the lesson and now, as you said, I try my best to be surrounded by nice people. I am sure you will succeed in that too!
    Wow, I never went to Singapore, but I believe it must be amazing! I am glad you are having a great time! denisesplanet com

    • Elly says:

      Aah thank you for the sweet comments Denise, I appreciate them! Your gypsy caravan sounds fantastic, I absolutely LOVE Indian and Oriental decor, can’t get enough of it. Your place must be beautiful!

  14. Ahhh a very big congratulations my dear on your amazing achievement!! So very proud of you and have no doubt that you will have an incredibly successful business out of all that hard work! Here’s to 2013 being the year when the going gets REALLY good. So inspiring and Happy New Year baby! xxx

Whatcha thinking?